Northumberland National Park Authority

I’m Krissy Moore and I’ve just joined the Northumberland National Park Authority as the Community Archaeologist. I’ve come a long way to get to Northumberland, I grew up in Alice Springs, in the Northern Territory, and studied archaeology at the Australian National University. After graduating in 2007, I worked in Aboriginal archaeological and cultural heritage management in New South Wales, I would go on surveys with local Aboriginal community representatives, and record their cultural insights along with any archaeological sites we might discover. In 2010, I took the opportunity to go on a two-year working holiday in the UK, and did as much archaeology work and volunteering as I could. I feel really passionate about archaeology and I applied to the University of Sheffield to undertake an MA in Landscape Archaeology, which I completed this September. I’m really excited to be starting with the National Park, and among other exciting projects part of my work will be to set up a new Young Archaeologists Club branch and working with the Altogether Archaeology project as well as supporting community archaeology groups and promoting the involvement of young people with archaeology and heritage in the National Park.

www.northumberlandnationalpark.org.uk or Facebook Page and Twitter feed @NorthumberlndNP

Leave a Reply

